Saturday, July 7, 2012

2012 Judging Panel announced

The Judging Panel was announced today for the Fourth National Republican Short Story Competition.

Thomas Keneally was born in 1935 and his first novel was published in 1964. Since then he has written a considerable number of novels and non-fiction works. His novels include The Chant of Jummy Blacksmith, Schinder's List and The People's Train. His latest non-fiction book was The Australians: Origins to Eureka. He has won the Miles Franklin Award, the Booker Prize, the Los Angeles Times Prize, the Mondello International Prize and has been made a Literary Lion of the New York Public Library, a Fellow of the American Academy, recipient of the University of California gold medal, and has been a 55 cent Australian stamp. He is also widely known as the founding chairman of the Australian Republican Movement.
Professor Brian Matthews is Honorary Professor of English at Flinders University and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities. He has won the Victorian, New South Wales and Queensland Premiers' awards for literature, the Bicentenary Biography Prize (shared), and the Gold Medal of the Australian Literature Society. His most recent book is Manning Clark A Life for which he was awarded the National Biography Prize in 2010.
Professor John Warhurst recently concluded fifteen years as Professor of Political Science at the Australian National University. He is Adjunct Professor at both Australian National University and Flinders University, Senior Deputy National Chair, Australian Republican Movement and was Australian Republican Movement National Chair from 2002 to 2005. He also writes a weekly column for the Canberra Times.

Dr Glenn Davies is Queensland State Convener, Australian Republican Movement, a republican historian and author, and a 2008 and 2009 Aurealis Awards Science Fiction Short Story judge. He reads slush pile for Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine.

No comments:

Post a Comment